My Easter long weekend featured three great food moments.

1. I ate a whole roll of raw cookie dough (that one that oddly comes packaged kinda looking like a dog food roll) and it was delicious.

2. The only thing I did on Sunday (and the only thing I got out of my pyjamas for) was drive 15mins to buy Nordburger. Their mushroom burger is worth it.

3. I made a yummy scrummy Soba noodle salad (which was very healthy and magically cancelled out all the cookie dough and burgers).

In the spirit of full disclosure, I should say I don’t have a whole lot of kitchen skillz. My sister thinks I can’t make toast properly (apparently I don’t leave it in long enough to transition from bread).

My noodle salad was delicious though, so I thought I’d share it.

IMG_1629

I stumbled across this recipe cos Japanese Soba noodles were on special at Foodland and I was being stingy. I hadn’t tried soba noodles before – turns out they’re quite filling.

It’s healthy and fresh and itΒ didn’t take me that long to pull together.

My tip: make extra so that you have leftovers for lunch (or midnight snacks).

Ingredients

Japanese Soba noodles
Cucumber
Carrot
Snow peas
Spring onions
Sesame seeds
Kale
Mint
Soy sauce
Chilli sauce
Pepper & salt
Lemon oil (or olive oil and lemon juice)

You can really pop in any veggies & herbs you want. I just used what I had in the fridge.

How-to

  1. Cook Soba noodles (4-5mins in boiling water) and chill (run cold water over noodles).
  2. Cook kale (chop up, rinse, cook in a fry pan with a lil bit of lemon oil until wilted).
  3. Chop up all the veggies & mint.
  4. Make the dressing (equal parts soy sauce, chilli sauce with a dash of water + pepper and salt).
  5. Put it all together & sprinkle with sesame seeds.

Easy, healthy and tasty. Enjoy!

IMG_1631

